☙ What’s the Best Fashion Photography Tip for the Beginner?

This blog post is about a couple of things really. How I stepped outside my comfort zone, took a chance and kept moving forwards after a setback. And a bit of sage advice I once received regarding models

Victor_20131005_3682bWM

Now, I love the art of photographing infants and newborns. For me, It’s a fun and rewarding task. However photographing adults is a very different thing for me. It’s actually quite scary!

Recently, I discovered a close friend of mine just hated the photographs I took of her. LOL. I can laugh now but, it was so painful at the time. It can be tricky photographing those that you are close to as the stakes are sometimes much higher.

Something had to cheer me up. A few days later, I receive an email (from my alma-mater FIDM) announcing a one day Beginner’s Digital Photography Workshop. I was going to hit the delete key . . . then decided to read further. It mentioned there would be a model for us to shoot. I thought, this would be just what I needed to get my confidence back.

Victor_20131005_3732WM

The photos you see here are from that workshop. The model is Emily Palos and she has a clean fresh look, a beautiful figure, and knows how to pose. These shots were taken on the campus of FIDM in downtown Los Angeles.

So, you never know where inspiration may come from. Mine came in an innocent looking email from my old school.

As I write this blog post it reminds me of a bit of advice I got in the late 70s from a famous glamour photographer Peter Gowland (who passed away in 2010). He pulled me aside and said: “Victor it’s all in the model. The real secret (for the beginning photographer) is to shoot experienced models.” An experienced model knows what her “best side” is, the best position for her legs, how to angle her hands, how to turn on the charisma for the camera. And good model will be happy to give you advice on how to best shoot her — if you ask. Remember that you are a team. She is not a flower in a vase, an automobile in a studio, she is a human being, not an object, and she can give you any emotion you ask for, any look in her eyes, any body language you need to make a great photograph. A good model is always 50% of the equation.

Victor_20131005_3677WMVictor_20131005_3703WM

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Peter and his wife Alice were such big influences early in my career. The one recommendation I would give to any photographer (of any skill level) is to find a photographer you admire and befriend them. Go to their studio, volunteer to go onsite for a shoot and assist, ask them out for a drink or dinner. Give them as much respect as you possibly can and the rewards will come in unexpected ways often much later down the road. And don’t do this with just one photographer, find a few that you admire.

Victor_20131005_3687WM

Prepare with practice and photograph like a professional.

Cheers.

Victor Osaka, Photographer

5 thoughts on “☙ What’s the Best Fashion Photography Tip for the Beginner?

  1. Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

Leave a Reply

I Love Classical Ukulele

All things classical ukulele

On The Record

Musings from an art veteran.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

London Unveiled

great places to visit off the beaten path.

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

My Blog hopespringseternal

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

imagery freak

Live Your Pix

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

Petals Unfolding

~Love Is Freedom~

imackenzie14

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Clarifying Questions

On Implementing Holacracy

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

Madstoffa's crunchy house!

Part time actor, aspiring writer of poetry and prose and full-time idiot with a heart.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

Maurice Sapiro

TONALIST AND REPRESENTATIONAL FINE ART

